Ain’t No Question If I want It, I Need It

Kanye reference aside, this blog won’t bore you with the semantics and intricacies of sports and analytics (though this article does a good job of that). I’m on a train up to New York right now. Tomorrow is very possibly the most important day of my life up until this point. Can you guess why? That’s right, a job interview (they offered to put me in a hotel, so you know it’s legit).

Why, you might say, is that the most important event you’ve experienced over almost 22 years? The answer is kind of complicated, but I’ll do my best to sum it up succinctly. I don’t have any individual accolades or awards to show for myself or the work I’ve done in my life. The best example I have is the Dean’s List letter hanging up on the fridge in my apartment. It’s not necessarily due to a lack of effort on my part. It just took me a really long time to figure it all out. With that said, I’m the youngest of four kids, and they’re all very accomplished people. I won’t get into details about their circumstances, but I’ve had more than my fair share of comparisons to them. And you know what? I think it’s time I’ve moved past that phase.

So yes, I have something to prove. Tomorrow is my day to show my worth. In all honesty I may not find a better opportunity than this. That’s why I have to seize the one at hand. A year ago I would likely be shaking in apprehension or fear that I won’t live up to my expectations. Not anymore. As of tomorrow, that all becomes a thing of the past. I’m going in there with a confident demeanor, and even if I don’t leave with an offer in hand, I’ll know that I left it all on the table. So here I go, wish me luck, and I’ll see you on the other side.

Edit: JK LOL still got 1 more to go (if they like me). 

Leave a Reply

